Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 10, 2018, 08:57:12 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News:

+  DIY DataRecovery.nl Support forum
|-+  Support
| |-+  General Data Recovery (Moderators: Tom, Joep)
| | |-+  Files are not displayed after scan
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Files are not displayed after scan  (Read 1178 times)
moon.chung
member

Posts: 7


« on: August 06, 2018, 10:19:55 PM »

I downloaded a trial version of iRecover and ran the program (based on details in exe properties windows, it shows 1.0.0.0, the application does not show version number). It took over 3 days to scan my drives (as RAID 5, but I was not sure if it was RAID 0 or RAID 5) but when it was completed, there was a complete dialog and when I clicked okay, it went back to select RAID member disks window and it seems that I lost that the work iRecover has done over 3 days. This time, I paid money and downloaded the software from the link in the email and it seems that this version is different and shows as version 6.1. Now it is scanning again. Well, this time as RAID 0. My question is that will it go back to select RAID member disks window again? Did I do something wrong? What should I expect after scanning disks is done?

Thanks
Moon
Logged
Joep
Developer and Support Tech
Administrator
member
*****
Posts: 1473


WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2018, 10:24:39 PM »

Hello,

How many disks are you scanning?

Normal procedure for a RAID array is:

1. RAID reconstruction - In general this scan can take a while, depends on size array
2. File system reconstruction - In general this scan takes a while, depends on size file system

Only then you can select folders/files and copy them. See: http://www.diydatarecovery.nl/irecoverhelp/RAID_recovery.htm

I suggest you upgrade the version you used as trial as it is a newer version. Serial works with that as well. So do not use 6.1.
Logged

--
Kind regards,
Joep - My blog @: www.disktuna.com - Try my JPEG Repair Tool: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WIUq03Deyy0
moon.chung
member

Posts: 7


« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2018, 01:53:59 AM »

I have 4 disks and each disk is 2 TB.
What is the latest version then?
With version 6.1, it just finished scanning disks and now it is doing Volume map.
Should I stop and download the latest version?
Where can I download the latest version?
Last week, I downloaded one from http://www.diydatarecovery.nl/download.htm and that took so long.
Did it take so long because my drives are for RAID 0 but I asked it to scan it as RAID 5? I still don't remember what RAID I configured as.
Logged
Joep
Developer and Support Tech
Administrator
member
*****
Posts: 1473


WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2018, 09:59:29 AM »

I'd let is scan now.

This is the latest: http://www.diydatarecovery.nl/download_irecoverzip_delay_copy.htm

If selecting the wrong RAID type it will run forever because it will never be able to come to a satisfying solution.

Where were the disks in originally? Was it a NAS?
Logged

--
Kind regards,
Joep - My blog @: www.disktuna.com - Try my JPEG Repair Tool: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WIUq03Deyy0
moon.chung
member

Posts: 7


« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2018, 12:44:47 PM »

Thank you for the reply.
The disks are from NAS, iomega ix4-d200.
With version 6.1, when it was done, the list of files looked much like a windows folder, not like my files or directories.
I will give it try again with latest version tonight.
Thanks.
Logged
moon.chung
member

Posts: 7


« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2018, 10:34:02 PM »

After downloading the latest irecover and started scan. And then I walked away for about an hour. When I tried to re-log in from screen saving, ctrl+alt+del key does not work any more. My computer is configured to never stop spinning drive or machine. It only turns off monitors after about 30 minutes. Does this program change any registry information?
Now I cannot log in to the system at all even after hard reboot because ctrl+alt+del key does not work. I was able to remotely login from another machine though. This is first time something like this happens and that's after I ran irecover program. Any suggestion is appreciated.
Logged
moon.chung
member

Posts: 7


« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2018, 10:37:48 PM »

Using the latest irecover.exe (from http://www.diydatarecovery.nl/download_irecoverzip_delay_copy.htm), it sees most of the files (under folder name Xfs\Fragments\) that I want to recover. But when I copied the files to another drive, the files seem corrupted that I cannot use them at all. Is there any suggest how to the files not corrupted?
Logged
Joep
Developer and Support Tech
Administrator
member
*****
Posts: 1473


WWW
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2018, 01:27:47 PM »

Hello,

- What happened to the array? So, did the entire thing become inaccessible or are you trying to recover accidentally deleted files?

- What procedure did you follow? If RAID Recovery then disks from a NAS are best recovered using this procedure:
http://www.diydatarecovery.nl/irecoverhelp/NAS_recovery.htm. So, NOT RAID Recovery, instead use data recovery for windows and linux. Did you do that?
Logged

--
Kind regards,
Joep - My blog @: www.disktuna.com - Try my JPEG Repair Tool: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WIUq03Deyy0
moon.chung
member

Posts: 7


« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2018, 04:02:36 PM »

When I tried to recover using "data recovery for Windows and Linux", selecting RAID 1 scans really quickly but then it shows only a few files. When I selected RAID 5, it scans for about 45 minutes but then it gives an error "there was an error while autosaving the scan result. Unknown storage object type" with OK button. Clicking OK does not dismiss "Saving" dialog and iRecover becomes unusable because there is no way for me to dismiss "Saving" dialog.
Logged
moon.chung
member

Posts: 7


« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2018, 01:19:04 PM »

I finally recovered the data. Thanks to iRecover.

It turned out that when I had an issue with my iomega at the first time, I tried hard reboot iomega a few times and made eventually no files showing from UI. After that I went into iomega StorCenter Manager and selected RAID 5 as data protection expecting that iomega will warn me any data loss before it starts anything but at my surprise, it started making changes. That's when I unplugged iomega and took out the hard drives and started data recovery using iRecover. But iRecover thought that data was in RAID 5 rather than RAID 10 which was originally configured for. So I put the drives back to iomega and went back to StorCenter Manager and changed RAID 10 and then let it run for about 5 minutes and then unplugged iomega. After that, iRecover was able to see all my files correctly and I was able to recover them. Thanks. iRecover works.

Moon
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!