I really cannot see how the files were replaced with new information as I had only surfed the net since the deletion. I had not saved one thing in my documents since.
It does not matter who is doing the saving or where it is saved. The MFT entries for the deleted files, and space previously allocated to those files can be re-used by anything (including your web browser
, Windows doing maintenance, programs updating in the background etc.) at any time. Most web-browsers are constantly saving files, it's called caching.
I do want the refund as I don't see this happening again, lesson learned and I will not procrastinate on backing up my business records again.
It's a bit like returning the little first aid kit you keep in the house and the car because you won't be needing it anymore ... I have submitted the refund.