Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 24, 2017, 09:44:55 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News:

+  DIY DataRecovery.nl Support forum
|-+  Support
| |-+  iRecover (Moderators: Tom, Joep)
| | |-+  Recover deleted folder from Iomega StorCenter Pro 150d RAID 5
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Recover deleted folder from Iomega StorCenter Pro 150d RAID 5  (Read 9394 times)
calcubilla

« on: March 03, 2016, 05:07:18 PM »

Hi, I'm new to data recovery. I've read that, under certain conditions and in order to recover deleted data from a RAID, one has to take the disks from the NAS and connect them to a recovery PC. In my case, I've only accidentally deleted a folder and the NAS works perfectly. Is there any way of producing a virtual image of the RAID without taking out the disks, take this image to a PC and recover?
Joep
Developer and Support Tech
Administrator

« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2016, 09:26:26 AM »

Hello,

You mean without taking the NAS offline? That would need to be something that runs on the NAS OS (Probably Linux) and I have never heard of it. I don't know of any other way than to take the drives out of the NAS, attach them to a PC, and run the recovery from there.

A note about iRecover: iRecover always treats the disk or RAID set as if it were a disaster area and will start (virtually) rebuilding the RAID and file system from scratch. This is a lengthy process which could take days. And it then depends on many factors (file system to name one) if deleted files can be recovered.

--
Kind regards,
Joep
calcubilla

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2016, 02:33:19 PM »