Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 15, 2018, 07:03:56 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News:

+  DIY DataRecovery.nl Support forum
|-+  Support
| |-+  General Data Recovery (Moderators: Tom, Joep)
| | |-+  Hard Drive Code 0x70 bad secto - what to use & backup system suggestion please.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Hard Drive Code 0x70 bad secto - what to use & backup system suggestion please.  (Read 15048 times)
Peggy

« on: February 26, 2011, 08:39:17 PM »

Good Day to you!   Cheesy

May I get your advice if you believe any of your products will help me?  Please bear with me – as I am a newbie to hard drive configurations, cloning, and related issues.  I however, have read almost all of your forum posts, and much of your website that I could understand and a little scared of doing anything further on this.

My XPS from Dell failed due to a video card issue and while I’m waiting for that – I used my old Dell and the hard drive failed.    On that old Dell - I do not have backups of important data for the last week so data recovery is the goal.

1.   Dell Inspiron 6400/E1505 running XP latest service packs. - OS and diagnostics on all hardware/except hard drive are okay.

2.   Dell E1505 battery died 100%, and the cord pulls out easily.

3.   Dell E1505 was running out of hard drive space and I failed to catch the last notification and fix that issue.   

4.   I lost power accidentally and it did not boot up.  (Unfortunately, advised on other web sites did the following list…) ran CHKDSK /R and the system booted up okay and all was well. I had not had time to delete files to solve the “out of space” error on the system when…   Angry

5.   Later that afternoon – the power was accidentally interrupted (AC cord issues pulled out) and could not boot up so ran the recovery console from the Dell Boot Up Disks with no luck.   Unmountable Hard Drive Error.  I DID NOT run fixmbr or fixboot or fdisk.